Skip Navigation
Show Events By: Day Week Month RSS
  • Monday, January 1, 2018

    • No events today
  • Tuesday, January 2, 2018

    • No events today
  • Wednesday, January 3, 2018

    • No events today
  • Thursday, January 4, 2018

    • No events today
  • Friday, January 5, 2018

    • New Student Orientation, Baltimore Time: 4:00pm - 6:00pm Location: Homewood Campus, Maryland 110 Details:

      The program will provide sessions on topics related to campus and community living, immigration and other regulatory information, and the opportunity to meet with current students to discuss how they have been successful at JHU.

       

      There are two sessions (Jan 5 and Jan 26) to accommodate student arrivals.  Please attend only one.

       

      RSVP HERE

       
       
  • Saturday, January 6, 2018

    • No events today
  • Sunday, January 7, 2018

    • No events today
  • Monday, January 8, 2018

    • No events today
  • Tuesday, January 9, 2018

    • No events today
  • Wednesday, January 10, 2018

    • No events today
  • Thursday, January 11, 2018

    • No events today
  • Friday, January 12, 2018

    • No events today
  • Saturday, January 13, 2018

    • No events today
  • Sunday, January 14, 2018

    • No events today
  • Monday, January 15, 2018

    • No events today
  • Tuesday, January 16, 2018

    • No events today
  • Wednesday, January 17, 2018

    • J-1 Scholar Orientation Time: 10:00am - 11:00am Location: East Baltimore, Reed Hall First Floor Conference Room Details:

      This is a mandatory orientation for new J-1 Scholars.

      Topics include J-1 immigration documents, responsibilities as a J-1 Scholar, the 2 year home residency requirement, travel, and OIS processes for J-1 updates, extensions and more.

      To make a reservation: email J1-Scholars@jhmi.edu.  Include the date of the session you plan to attend in your email.

       
       
  • Thursday, January 18, 2018

    • H-1B E-Form Training for Departmental Administrators Time: 9:30am - 11:30am Location: Reed Hall, First Floor Details:

      The OIS has been working to centralize some services across the Johns Hopkins Enterprise, and consolidate certain immigration processes. The first process to be centralized was the H-1B process. As the OIS@JHMI has the largest number of H-1B cases, the decision was made to move all H-1B processing to the Medical Campus. In connection with this procedural change, the OIS implemented a new electronic H-1B process in February 2014. The new process allows sponsoring Departments and H-1B applicants to submit all forms via iHopkins, the central database used by the OIS to process H-1B applications.

      Benefits of the New Process:

      • Ability to manage your case load and monitor the status of H-1B cases via iHopkins.
      • Electronic Posting process removes the need for departments to post paper notices in all work sites.
      • Improved Actual Wage reporting process.
      • Ability to submit all required forms via iHopkins.
      • Monthly training will be offered for new and continuing users

      Important Changes:

      • The OIS will only accept H-1B requests submitted via iHopkins.
      • All H-1B cases will be prepared and filed by the OIS@JHMI. H-1B Advising and support will continue to be available at Homewood and SAIS.

      Individuals who are responsible for processing H-1B requests must participate in Mandatory Training. Individuals who have not attended a training session will not be granted access to iHopkins, and thus, not able to initiate a H-1B request.

      All training sessions will be held on the JHMI campus in the first floor conference room of Reed Hall. To register for a training session, e-mail the following information to H1B-Employment@jhmi.edu :

      Last Name
      First Date
      E-mail Address
      School
      Department/Division

      Considerable time and effort was dedicated to revising this process and developing a comprehensive and extensive training program for Departmental Users. Following in person training, OIS staff will be available in person, and via Adobe Connect to help departmental users through the implementation. Individuals who prepare H-1B forms for H-1B sponsorship MUST attend a training session before they will be permitted to begin using iHopkins.

       
       
  • Friday, January 19, 2018

    • No events today
  • Saturday, January 20, 2018

    • No events today
  • Sunday, January 21, 2018

    • No events today
  • Monday, January 22, 2018

    • No events today
  • Tuesday, January 23, 2018

    • No events today
  • Wednesday, January 24, 2018

    • No events today
  • Thursday, January 25, 2018

    • No events today
  • Friday, January 26, 2018

    • New Student Orientation, Baltimore Time: 4:00pm - 6:00pm Location: Homewood Campus, Maryland 110 Details:

      The program will provide sessions on topics related to campus and community living, immigration and other regulatory information, and the opportunity to meet with current students to discuss how they have been successful at JHU.

       

      There are two sessions (Jan 5 and Jan 26) to accommodate student arrivals.  Please attend only one.

       

      RSVP HERE

       
       
  • Saturday, January 27, 2018

    • No events today
  • Sunday, January 28, 2018

    • No events today
  • Monday, January 29, 2018

    • No events today
  • Tuesday, January 30, 2018

    • No events today
  • Wednesday, January 31, 2018

    • J-1 Scholar Orientation Time: 10:00am - 11:00am Location: East Baltimore, Reed Hall First Floor Conference Room Details:

      This is a mandatory orientation for new J-1 Scholars.

      Topics include J-1 immigration documents, responsibilities as a J-1 Scholar, the 2 year home residency requirement, travel, and OIS processes for J-1 updates, extensions and more.

      To make a reservation: email J1-Scholars@jhmi.edu.  Include the date of the session you plan to attend in your email.